Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
NEWS RELEASE · 6th September 2012
B.C. New Democrat leader Adrian Dix issued the following statement honouring Premier Dave Barrett, who today became a recipient of the Order of B.C.

“Today, our province is recognizing former New Democrat Premier Dave Barrett with the Order of B.C., along with thirteen other deserving and distinguished British Columbians.

“An honour long in the making, richly deserved, it also expresses the appreciation and admiration British Columbians feel toward Premier Barrett.

“Premier Barrett’s time in office was defined by his keen foresight, conviction, empathy and generosity. Under his leadership, our province made some of its greatest strides in becoming a fairer society, where people can realize their aspirations and improve their circumstances.

“During his time in office, Premier Barrett oversaw the creation of programs and policies that today we consider essential, such as Pharmcare, ICBC, the provincial ambulance service and the Agricultural Land Reserve, to name but a few.

“Premier Barrett was always larger than life, while remaining warm, personable and approachable. He was truly one of modern British Columbia’s architects.

“Also, on behalf of myself and our caucus, I wish to congratulate and pay tribute to this year’s 13 other Order of B.C. recipients: Sister Nancy Brown, Kim Campbell, Dr. Peter Cooperberg, Christopher Gaze, Rick Harry (Xwalacktun), Norman Keevil, Hassan Khosrowshahi, Marion Lay, Carol Matthews, Djavad Mowafaghian, James Ogilvie, Tricia Smith and Robert Thirsk. They all made our province a better place with their talents, energy and commitment. "