Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
NEWS RELEASE · 7th November 2012
Office of the Premier
The fourth annual British Columbia Aboriginal Business Awards were announced today by Premier Christy Clark and Keith Mitchell, chair of the BC Achievement Foundation.

The honourees will be celebrated at a gala ceremony on Nov. 26, 2012, at the Hyatt Regency in Vancouver.

"The British Columbia Aboriginal Business Awards showcase the continuing positive impact Aboriginal business has on British Columbia's economic development," said Premier Clark.

"The young people, businesses, joint ventures and community-owned endeavours recognized today exemplify the entrepreneurial spirit of the Aboriginal community."

"From trades, construction and forestry to aerial surveying, technology and fisheries, the 2012 BC Aboriginal Business Awards showcase the Aboriginal business community and its accomplishments," added Mitchell. "On behalf of the BC Achievement Foundation, I would like to extend my congratulations to these deserving enterprises".

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards were launched in 2008 to honour and celebrate business excellence. Six award recipients have been selected and a further group of ten Aboriginal businesses noted for their outstanding achievement.

Members of the jury panel include Chief Harold Leighton of Metlakatla First Nation in Prince Rupert and CEO of Metlakatla Development Corporation, a past recipient; Tim Low, entrepreneur, former economic development officer and currently director of Citizen Services, Service Canada in Vancouver; and Janice Rose, Vice-Chair, Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada and Principal Consultant of JM Rose & Associates in Ladysmith.

In addition, Chief Councillor Garry Reece of the Lax Kw'alaams Band has been selected the recipient of the 2012 BC Aboriginal Business Award for Individual Achievement. This award is selected by the board of directors of the B.C. Achievement Foundation.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards are presented by the BC Achievement Foundation in partnership with the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, and generously supported by New Relationship Trust, BC Hydro, Teck, Encana and Spectra Energy.

The BC Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed in 2003 by the Province of British Columbia to celebrate community services, the arts, humanities and enterprise.

The 2012 Aboriginal Business Award Recipients

Individual Achievement:
Chief Councillor Garry Reece

Young Entrepreneur of the Year:
Recipient: Shelley Stewart, Merritt

* Business of the Year - one-to-two person enterprise:
Recipient: Toolcomm Technology Inc., North Vancouver

Outstanding Achievement:
Bizzybody Events, Fort St. John
Jobkat Excavating, Invermere

* Business of the Year - two-to-ten-person enterprise:
Recipient: Braker Electric Ltd., Port Alberni

Outstanding Achievement
Kisik Aerial Survey Inc., Richmond
Spirit Works Limited, North Vancouver

* Business of the Year - ten-or-more-person enterprise:
Recipient: Taba Enterprises Ltd., Fort St. James

Outstanding Achievement:
E & K Construction, Hope
Falcon Contracting Ltd. Prince George

* Community-Owned Business of the Year:
Recipient: Duz Cho Logging Ltd., Mackenzie

Outstanding Achievement:
Kyahwood Forest Products, Smithers
Pentlatch Seafoods Ltd., Courtenay

* Joint Venture Business of the Year:
Recipient: Coast Salish Development Corporation, Ladysmith

Outstanding Achievement:
Black Diamond Cygnus, Fort Nelson
Canoe Creek Hydro Company Ltd., Nanaimo

Information and tickets to the 4th Annual BC Aboriginal Business Awards' Gala in Vancouver can be found at: or by calling 604 261-9777 / 1866-882-6088.

Detailed information about the awards and a list of past winners is posted on the foundation's website at: