Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
NEWS RELEASE · 12th March 2013
Kitimat Ice Demons
The Smithers Steelheads were winners over the Kitimat Ice Demons in Kitimat in 2012 , but the team has announced it defend its title or participate in the 2013 provincial championship. Four CIHL teams, the Kitimat Ice Demons, the Terrace River Kings, the Quesnel Kangaroos and the Williams Lake Stampeders will begin pursuit on Tuesday March 12 of the 2013 Coy Cup Senior Men's AA Provincial Hockey Championship. Absent will be the Smithers Steelheads, which just won the CIHL playoff championships by two games to one over the Williams Lake Stampeders.

Smithers notified the organizers some weeks ago that it would not be able to ice a team, due to player availability shortages. As a result the Terrace River Kings will take their place in the lineup for the five day tournament that starts at 5.00 p.m. at Tamitik Arena in Kitimat, with a game between the River Kings and the Quesnel Kangaroos.

Game 2 goes at 8.00 p.m. and will see the Kitimat Ice Demons and perennial rivals the Williams Lake Stampeders. On Wednesday, the Demons, which, as hosts play all round robin late games, will fave the winner of the Terrace v Quesnel match-up -- and the remaining two nights round robin match-ups will depend on subsequent winner-loser and unplayed opponent combinations.

The semi-final on Friday, March 15 the second place round robin winner play the third place round robin team, with the winner facing the first place round robin team in Saturday's game. The round robin first place team gets a day off Friday, with a bye to the finals on Saturday night at 8.00 p.m.

All teams involved in this year's provincial champions, with the exception of the Terrace River Kings, are past Coy Cup winner in the Cup's recent history. The Kitimat Ice Demons won in 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2011. The Demons were also losing finalists in 2003, 2007 and 2012. The Stampeders were Cup winners in 2009, and losing finalists in 2010 and 2011. The Kangaroos, in their recent incarnation, rejoined the CIHL in 2010 - but had been cup winners in earlier years, 1966, 1968, 1982 to 1988 and 1990.