Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
CONTRIBUTION · 16th February 2010
Darren Munson
Terrace Kermodes played their zone playdowns this past Valentines weekend in Smithers. They beat Smithers in their first game Saturday morning 4-1 and then Rupert that night 15-1. These victories brought them into the final game on Sunday; once again against Smithers.

Smithers came out very hard but Terrace managed to open the scoring in the first period by Rhett Munson with assists from Brett Carey and Kenny Nordstrom. Smithers answered back with 15 seconds remaining in the first tying it up going into the second.

Smithers broke the tie in the last 4 minutes of the second taking the lead into the third. Terrace answered back late in the third to tie it up with a goal by Colten Braid from Austin Turner. Two minutes later Smithers broke the tie with their last goal of the game, putting intense pressure on the Terrace boy’s to dig deeper to try to come back. Then with only 3:44 left in regulation, Austin Turner and Colten Braid managed to put in another to finally tie it up again. Thirty seconds later Austin scored again this time from a great play from Chris Allison to break the tie.

To finish them off Colten scored the 5th and final goal from another great drive, this time from Ryan Roseboom and Austin Turner, winning the final game of the Bantam Rep Zone playdowns. Terrace outshot Smithers 44 to 11.

This win gave Terrace both banners; one for winning the zones and one for winning the whole Skeena valley hockey league. The league consists of; Terrace, Rupert, Smithers, and Kitimat.

The Terrace Bantams will now be heading to Castlegar for Provincials to represent the North between March 6 and 12.

The Terrace Kermode Bantam Reps, sponsored by MacCarthy Motors GM, pictured above; from left to right;

Fitness trainer Amber Pipe, Captain Austin Turner, Manager Darren Munson, Rhett Munson, James Taylor, Curtis Hull, Greg Tuckerman, Kyle Jephson, Brett Carey, Cam Broughton, Kenny Nordstrom, Tanner Watt, Chris Allison, Devin Poulin, Ryan Roseboom, Captain Colten Braid, Coaches Darcy Allison, Steve Turner and goalies Brandon Thandi and Tristan Metcalfe