Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
NEWS RELEASE · 6th August 2010
Province of BC
Fifteen British Columbians who have contributed to the province in extraordinary ways will be awarded the Order of British Columbia, Lieutenant-Governor Steven Point, Chancellor of the Order, announced today.

"The Order of British Columbia recognizes the excellence and achievements of our citizens. It is the highest honour we can bestow on individuals in our province," Point said.

"The Order of British Columbia recognizes the remarkable accomplishments achieved by extraordinary British Columbians," said Premier Gordon Campbell. "This year's recipients have made exceptional contributions to their communities and to the province. On behalf of all British Columbians, I'd like to thank each recipient for everything they have done for the province."

This year's recipients are:

* The Honourable Jacob "Jack" Austin, P.C., Q.C., of Vancouver - lawyer, Senator emeritus
* Brad Bennett of Kelowna - businessman, community volunteer and board member
* Dr. Robert Conrad Brunham of Vancouver - professor and infectious disease specialist
* Dan Doyle of Vancouver - provincial public servant, transportation engineer
* Jeneece Edroff of Victoria - youth active in community service
* John Furlong, O.C. of Vancouver - chief executive officer, Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games
* Robert (Bob) George Hindmarch of Vancouver - amateur sports leader
* Chief Tony Hunt of Victoria - First Nations artist and leader
* Milan Ilich of Richmond - philanthropist, businessman
* Patricia Anna Mildred Leigh of Vancouver - educator, Science Fair advocate
* Marco A. Marra of Vancouver - genome scientist
* Dr. Julio S.G. Montaner of Vancouver - HIV clinician and researcher
* Christopher Duncan Rose of Kamloops - educator focusing on children with autism
* Barbara Ward-Burkitt of Prince George - Aboriginal community worker and volunteer
* Pauline (Hilistis) Waterfall of Bella Bella - educator focusing on adult learning opportunities for First Nations

Recipients of the Order of British Columbia have been selected by an independent advisory committee from public nominations. The 2010 Advisory Committee consists of: The Honourable Lance S.G. Finch (Chair), Chief Justice of British Columbia; The Honourable Bill Barisoff, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and MLA for Penticton; Dr. Roger H. Barnsley, Interim President, Thompson Rivers University; Chief Harry Nyce, President, Union of British Columbia Municipalities; Lorne Brownsey, Deputy Minister, Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat; and, Dolores Kirkwood, O.B.C., and Dr. Ray Markham, O.B.C. (previous recipients of the Order).

The Order of B.C. investiture ceremony will be held for recipients and invited guests at Government House in Victoria on Oct. 21, 2010. Since the Order was first introduced in 1989, 287 people have received the honour.

The Order of B.C. is online at: