Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
CONTRIBUTION · 22nd September 2010
Office of the Premier
VANCOUVER – Premier Gordon Campbell and British Columbia Achievement Foundation chair Keith Mitchell announced the six recipients of the 2010 BC Creative
Achievement Awards for First Nations’ Art today.

“We are proud to celebrate the outstanding work of these First Nations’ artists,” said Premier Campbell. “In their work, they tell their nations’ stories and in doing so, preserve the great cultural traditions of our province’s First Nation’s heritage.”

Rena Point Bolton of Terrace, a Sto:lo artist, was named the 2010 recipient of the BC Lifetime Creative Achievement Award for First Nations Art in recognition of her lifelong contributions to First Nations’ art through her work in traditional weaving and basketry.

The recipients of this year’s juried awards will receive $2,500 and the use of the British Columbia Creative Achievement Award seal to signify their creative excellence.

The recipients are:

· Alvin Adkins, Haida, of Vancouver

· Lisa Hageman, Haida, of Massett

· Peter Morin, Tahltan, of Victoria

· Tim Paul, Nuu-chah-nulth, of Port Alberni

· Richard Sumner, Kwakwaka’wakw, of

The juried recipients were selected by an independent panel chaired by board member Dr. Robert Belton, dean of creative and critical studies at UBC Okanagan. The jurors were Brenda Crabtree of Vancouver, Aboriginal program co-ordinator, Emily Carr University of Art + Design; Bill McLennan, curator, Pacific Northwest, UBC Museum of Anthropology; Marianne Nicolson of Victoria, Dzawada’enuxw artist and Connie Watts of Port Alberni, Nuu-chah-nulth artist.

“The 2010 recipients join 19 artists previously recognized with this prestigious honour,” said Mitchell. “We congratulate the 2010 artists for their excellence in BC traditional and contemporary visual art.”

The BC Creative Achievement Awards for First Nations’ Art are presented by Polygon Homes Ltd. The event to celebrate this year’s recipients, on Oct. 22, is sponsored by the Vancouver Airport Authority.

For biographical information about the recipients, please visit: