Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
NEWS RELEASE · 8th August 2011
School District # 82
On September 15, 2010, the Board of Education of Coast Mountains School District 82 (CMSD82) passed a motion at the Regular Meeting of the Board of Education to reduce the number of trustees from nine to seven by eliminating one trustee representative in Terrace and one trustee representative in Kitimat effective for the November 2011 election.

Pursuant to Section 30 (4) (5) of the School Act, the Board of Education of CMSD82 requested consideration by the Minister of Education in making a variation order in relation to the aforementioned motion by providing detailed information of the consultation process, stakeholder views and population statistics relating to the school district's Trustee Electoral Areas.

Honourable George Abbott, Minister of Education for the Province of British Columbia, ordered on July 21, 2011, that Ministerial Order 304/96, the School District 82 (Coast Mountains) Trustee Electoral Area is amended in the manner proposed by CMSD82's Board of Education.

The CMSD82 Trustee Electoral Areas effective for the November 19, 2011 General School Election is provided as follows:

Trustee Electoral Area 1 - Kitimat - Trustees (two) Formerly 3

includes; - the Municipality of Kitimat, Kitamaat Village, Kemano, Klemtu, Butedale, and Cable Car Subdivision

Trustee Electoral Area 2 - Terrace - Trustees (two) Formerly 3

includes; - the City of Terrace, northeast area of Kitimat-Stikine Regional District including New Remo, Kalum Lake Drive and Rosswood

Trustee Electoral Area 3 - Thornhill - Trustee (one)

includes; - Area E of Kitimat-Stikine Regional District and the South and East portion of Area C of the Kitimat-
Stikine Regional District including Copperside, Gossen. Kleanza, Lakelse Lake, Usk and Old Remo

Trustee Electoral Area 4 - Stewart/Meziadin - Trustee (one)

includes; - the Municipality of Stewart and Area A of the Kitimat-Stikine Regional District

Trustee Electoral Area 5 - Hazelton - Trustee (one)

includes; - the village of Hazelton, District of New Hazelton, District of South Hazelton, Village of Kitwanga, Cedarvale and the Villages of Gitwangak, Gitanyow and Gitsegukla